It’s a great day for hockey blogging…

2011 Stanley Cup Playoffs
Back in time to see Lord Stanley!

Well, my friends, I’m back! I’ve been feeling the itch to blog lately and was inspired by Erin Orsini over at Pink Cleats. EO is one of my best friends. When she started up her sports blog again, it made me want to do the same. And it is NHL playoff time, after all. This is the best time for hockey, and the best time to start up my blog again.

After my senior PR course came to a close last week, I found more time to devote to the best sport in the world. Then I proceeded to watch more overtime hockey than I’ve ever watched in my life. OT is the story of this year’s Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Now it’s probably best for me to disclose my personal opinions regarding playoff teams. I have three that I’ve been closely following:

Pittsburgh Penguin Max Talbot

Pittsburgh Penguin Max Talbot gets fired up during the first round of the playoffs. Photo courtesy of Eliot J. Schechter/Getty Images.

Pittsburgh Penguins: My all-time favorite team. I became a hockey fan because of the Pens. There’s nothing better than a hockey night in Pittsburgh.

Chicago Blackhawks: My Western Conference team. They’re just exciting to watch! I’m also fascinated by the way that the franchise recently turned itself around in PR terms.

Boston Bruins: My dream team. I spent last summer in Boston, and the Bruins will always hold a place in my heart.

I obviously won’t be worrying about the Hawks anymore after they blew it last night. I woke up at 1:18 a.m. to a text message telling me the Vancouver Canucks won the series in overtime, and it was hard to fall back to sleep after that. It was a tough year for Chicago.

The Penguins and the Bruins are both facing the pressure of Game 7 tonight. The Pens are up against the Tampa Bay Lightning (Fun Fact: A Kent State grad is the Lightning’s in-game host), and the Bruins are battling the rival Montreal Canadiens. I’m hoping they’re both able to pull it off. In which case, I would love to watch the Caps and the Flyers get knocked out in the next round. I’m ready to say goodbye to Ovechkin and the entire city of Philadelphia.

So what do you think? Who are you pulling for this year?

