Canada wins Olympic gold; Team USA fights to the end

And it all came down to overtime. Wow. What a game! I’m mourning the loss because Team USA was so close to tasting gold, but I’m proud of how well the team played. No one thought they were going to be that good.

Team USA reacts to gold medal loss.

Team USA reacts to the gold medal loss. Photo by AP Photo/Julie Jacobson.

To wrap up my Ryan of the Day features, I’ve decided to give gold, silver and bronze to my top three Ryans.

Bronze: Ryan Malone. It seemed like Malone was all over the place when he was out on the ice. He made plays work, and he contributed to Team USA in a big way. His goal against Finland sent USA into an offensive explosion that led to a 6-1 win and a trip to the gold medal game.

Ryan Malone was a force for Team USA.

Ryan Malone was a force for Team USA. Photo by Reuters.

Silver: Ryan Kesler. I didn’t know too much about Kesler before the Olympics, but once he hit the ice, I couldn’t take my eyes off him. He plays without holding anything back, and that’s one of the most important qualities a hockey player can have, in my opinion. He’s one of my new favorite players, and I’ll keep tabs on him as part of Vancouver’s team.

Ryan Kesler never gave up.

Ryan Kesler never gave up. Photo by AP Photo/Chris O'Meara.

Gold: Ryan Miller. What can I even say about Miller? He was outstanding. MVP of the Games and the backbone of Team USA.  He made one big save after another at key moments. Unfortunately, the game ended with a goal slipping past him, but that doesn’t take away from how well he played throughout the Olympics.

Ryan Miller was the backbone of Team USA.

Ryan Miller was the backbone of Team USA. Photo by AP Photo/Chris O'Meara.

Coming so close to the gold and then having to settle for silver is going to hurt for awhile, but I hope that soon the American men are able to see how great they were tonight. What a thrilling game! The Parise goal with less than 30 seconds left in the game was probably the greatest hockey moment I’ve ever witnessed. I was so proud of Team USA, and I still am. Sure, I love my NHL teams, but in the end I bleed red, white and blue.

Zach Parise's goal will forever be one of my favorite hockey moments.

Zach Parise's goal will forever be one of my favorite hockey moments. Photo by AP Photo/The Canadian Press, Ryan Remiorz

Leave a Reply

