Ryan of the Day: Ryan Miller

I’m still basking in the glow of last night’s 5-3 USA victory over Canada. It was glorious.

Team USA celebrates last night's 5-3 win over Canada.

Team USA celebrates last night's 5-3 win over Canada. Photo by Livesey/Getty

I watched the game at home with my parents. At one point my mom read a sign that a Canadian fan was holding up in the crowd. It read, “I Believe!” My mom said, “I believe? Yeah, I believe you’re going down.” It was a highlight of the game for me. When I first got into hockey she didn’t know a thing about the game. Last night she was calling out the refs and commenting on players by name. She’s come so far.

Ryan Miller shuts down Team Canada.

Ryan Miller shut down Team Canada last night. Photo by REUTERS.

Throughout the game, I was paying special attention to the multitude of Ryans. I had to decide who would get the honor of being my next Ryan of the Day. Really, it wasn’t much of a question last night. Today’s Ryan of the Day is Ryan Miller. He was outstanding in goal. There were several times that I wondered how Canada didn’t score, and the answer was Ryan Miller’s magic.

Ryan Kesler deserves an honorable mention for scoring that final empty-netter that took the pressure off Team USA. When he scored, I briefly considered making him today’s Ryan of the Day, but my mom shut that down pretty quickly. She said there was absolutely no way that I could give the award to anyone but Ryan Miller. She was right. But I do love Ryan Kesler  just a little bit more now that he made good on his guarantee to beat the Canadians.

Ryan Kesler celebrates after his empty-net goal.

Ryan Kesler celebrates after his empty-net goal. Photo by Getty Images.

I’ll get back to covering actual hockey PR issues later today or tomorrow. My Ryan of the Day posts are just little bits of fun in between.

Leave a Reply

